(post dated) Thursday, August 11th, 1870

Dear Diary:

After what you might imagine was a very sleepless night, I awoke feeling quite ill. I told myself it was the tea… but you know Matilda. His hands are positively magical. He never brewed a tea unfit for all of the gods on Olympus. No, I imagine my frequent recourse to the wc more likely to be a symptom of the condition sniffed out by Danyell than caused by anything Matilda did in the kitchen.

After first asking after Kylerra’s condition, which proved stable, I chatted amiably enough with Doctor Hyde. He is a new neighbor and a friend of the Wytchwoods, after all. I like him. He treated me to a nearly endless supply of his family’s signature sweet. Apparently, his mother touched the Platonic ideal of the cookie. Matilda will be sent round for the recipe directly.

Niceties dispensed with, I proceeded to broach the subject on which my visit truly hinged. It is not that I dislike the man. Indeed, I find the doctor rather charming. My immediate concerns merely tended toward his trade. Suffice it to say that he confirmed Danyell’s suspicion.  Nice or not, I wanted to punch him.

So there I sat: nauseous, bloated from eating too many cookies, and my complexion marred by dark circles around the eyes. Of course, that is when a gentleman from the club should come calling. God, I could have fainted! The visit passed pleasantly enough. I daresay I shall have a return client should I choose to continue the association. But should I? That is the question. Not only did the man display an appalling lack of reflection in my bathroom mirror (and a temperature tending toward tepid, by the by), but my condition will soon manifest itself in a manner all too obvious. Is my chosen vocation entirely practical at present?

My eyelids begin to droop. I apologize for my lack of detail or eloquence. I can barely hold my pen. I long for only one lover’s embrace tonight: the solitary comfort of my bedclothes.

Goodnight, dear Diary. Wish me well in my dreams, for my waking hours are full of uncertainty.

Your Exhausted,

–Miss Palabra Puddlegum–

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

