From the Typist as of Wednesday, August 18th, 2010

Dear Readers,

Please allow me to interject for a moment to appraise you of a few changes. I have begun to add those of my primary sources which are available on the internet to the Websites portion of my blog. Please see the lower portion of the navigation pane to your left. I particularly recommend Mrs. Beeton’s Book of Household Management and Our Deportment.

Also, I would like to note that I discovered a new (or, rather, new-to-me) term whilst perusing the pages of Our Deportment. As it happens, the demi-monde is a term applied to those ladies who exist on the outskirts of good society, especially courtesans or the regular mistresses of wealthy or well-known gentlemen. When leaving calling cards, my female readers are advised to refrain from writing a street address lest you be mistaken for a demimondaine.

Furthermore, I have no login with Wikipedia. Unfortunately, although Wikipedia editors do correctly attribute the term to an Alexandre Dumas fils comedy by the same name (Le Demi-Monde, 1855), they failed to make the connection between Verdi’s Opera, La Traviata and its basis on Dumas fils’ earlier novel, The Lady of the Camellias (1848). If one of my readers could correct this omission, I would be in your debt (so to speak). The novel is relatively unappreciated and often overshadowed by the opera, but well worth the read.

Yours,

–The Typist–

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

